Episode 1: The House Podcast with Lamorne Morris, Kylie Bunbury, Ebon Moss-Bachrach, a full cast cover art

Episode 1: The House

Preview

Audible Standard 30-day free trial

Try Standard free
Select 1 audiobook a month from our entire collection of titles.
Yours as long as you’re a member.
Get unlimited access to bingeable podcasts.
Standard auto renews for $8.99 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Episode 1: The House

By: Matthew Derby, Brianna Holt
Narrated by: Lamorne Morris, Kylie Bunbury, Ebon Moss-Bachrach, a full cast
Try Standard free

$8.99 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

View show details
The Lowdens, a young Black couple with a baby on the way, move into their newly-purchased home in Sunny Meadows, an “up and coming” neighborhood in Los Angeles. It’s the perfect place to raise a family and for Brandon to start his new career. But between a mysterious, transient man on their front lawn and unsettling sounds in the house, things aren’t as picturesque as they first seemed.©2023 AT WILL ENT INC (P)2023 Audible Originals, LLC
All stars
Most relevant
Story doesn’t even lift off the ground before racial divides are introduced. Why does every story have to involve race. People listen to this stuff to get away from it not to be told about our “white faces”

Race bait

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

Dialogue (writing) was clumsy and hard to listen to. Voice actors did a good job however of bringing it to life as much as possible.

Meh

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

I liked the story line so far. What I do not like is all the underlying racism towards white people. I mean I get that your trying to make it believable. But really using terms like whities and making the white people look like snobby people with no sense of charity and acceptance ruins the story. It almost puts me off from reading it. The story could be just as good without all that. I will keep listening though and hopefully it will get better

Still on Episode 1

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

This series could have been good but there were SO many missed opportunities, overt micro-aggressions, rabid stereotypes , and dumb people that it defies common sense.

The main characters don’t even call their realtor when things kick off…I was turned off my the unrealistic idea that you’d call her about a floor hatch but not the fact that you are going to lose the house.

No.

The acting was surprisingly good, which made it worse.

Missed Opportunity

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

I’m pretty sure this is not how adverse possession works. It’s usually about land, and even then you have to prove there’s strong evidence of physical possession. You can’t just do that because you’re illegally living in someone’s house. Especially not when people are living in the actual house. (If the house had been empty that might be a different story) And especially if they just moved in their stuff, you can’t just lay claim on that. I liked the concept, but it was too far fetched, which made it difficult to take seriously. The characters were not very strong either. Especially the women, who were insipid at best. The actors did a great job, but the writing let them down. It’s a shame, this could have been great.

Some research was needed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

See more reviews